Welcome to Southern B.L.O.G.S!

30 Jul

Hey y’all! We are so excited to finally have this site up and running and the event planning in the works! This is the official Southern B.L.O.G.S. website where we will provide you with any information regarding this event. Before we fill you in on the details, let us introduce ourselves.

Hi, my name is Jen!

 I’m a stay-at-home mommy, a wife and a blogger. My blog is a collection of everything that I enjoy from DIY projects, home decor, crafts and recipes to fun activities for the kids and our own family experiences. Hence my blog name: Scissors & Spatulas: And Everything in Between! When you visit my site, you never know what you’re gonna get!

 I was fortunate enough to win a ticket to attend Creative Estates in AZ this past April. While there, I realized how many creative bloggers there are on that side of the country! I also realized what great friends they all were and was envious of their frequent meet-ups. I started thinking, wouldn’t it be neat to find some creative bloggers a little closer to home that I could hang out with? And so began the idea for a Southern blogger meet-up.

Hey! I am Natalie, the girl behind Johnny In A Dress!
I am a Christian, Wife and Mother. My days are spent doing different therapies with my son, who has Cerebral Palsy, and picking up after my daughter, whose favorite activity at the moment is to to see how fast she can wreck our entire house. Over at Johnny In A Dress you will find crafty tutorials mixed in with glimpses of my day to day family life! I try to squeeze in a craft anytime I can, it’s my comfort in this chaotic world. Johnny In A Dress has become my journal and I would love for you to stop by!

When Jen asked me to help her out with Southern B.L.O.G.S. , I was super excited and honored because Jen is one of my favorite bloggers EVER! We have so much in common it is crazy! We are determined to make Southern B.L.O.G.S. a weekend full of celebrating each other, laughter, friendships and most of all, a weekend full of crafty fun! We are all so blessed to be apart of this wonderful craft blogging community and I am thrilled that us southern gals have the opportunity to get together, learn from each other, create bonds, share our stories, listen to one another and most importantly support each other. See y’all there!

Now that you know a little bit about us, let’s get this party started! Here are the details:

What can you expect from Southern B.L.O.G.S?

Many details are still being worked out and we will fill you in on those as soon as final decisions are made. We do know that you can expect a great, relaxing weekend at the beach in the company of fun, creative, blogging girls. We will kick-off Friday night with a  cupcakes and cocktails welcoming party. Saturday will be spent getting to know one another a little better, a group discussion on crafting, blogging, photography and anything else that might come up. We hope that this discussion will answer any questions we all have as well as offer new insights on successful blogging, handmade shops, and just creativity in general. And finally, there will be at least one fun make and take creative activity. Sunday we will end our fun weekend with some shopping!  Again, details are still being worked on, but this is the gist of it. Our goal is to create a fun, relaxing weekend where friends/relationships will be made.

Where will you stay?

We are fortunate enough to have a FREE beachfront home provided by Natalie! The house will not allow you to have your own room, and depending on how many people are attending, we may have to include air mattresses. That being said, there is the option of staying in your own hotel room in Garden City (more info will be sent later) or you are welcome to come just for the day if you prefer.

How do I secure my spot and find out who else is attending?

Tickets will go on sale early next week. You will be able to purchase the tickets right here on the site. At that time, you will also be able to join our guest list link up where you can link your site so that you and others can get to know each other before the event.

We are so excited to finally get this party started! We hope that y’all are just as excited! If you think you’ll be attending, grab a button and tell your friends! Have a fantastic weekend!

9 Responses to “Welcome to Southern B.L.O.G.S!”

  1. catdmoore July 30, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    It looks great! Can’t wait to hear more and so glad to be a part of it! 🙂

  2. Lauren July 30, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    This sounds like fun! Great idea, ladies! Hoping I’ll be able to make it.

  3. Chrissy Farnan July 30, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    Hi – I’m super excited. I even mapquested the distance from my house to the beach and it’s 7.5 hours – eeks!! Maybe someone else in the ATL that’s going wants to ride together. Might be a fun road trip.

  4. Kassandra July 30, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    I wish I could be there! I’m a southern girl in Texas, but it’s too far for me right now. I love this idea though!

  5. Toni July 31, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    I love this idea, wishing there was something like this in the Pacific NW area! If I were closer I would join you gals!

  6. Jenn @ Social Salutations July 31, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    So EXCITED!! I am looking forward to it!!

    – Jenn @ Social Salutations

  7. johnnyinadress August 1, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    YIPPIE!!! I can’t wait!

  8. Deneen August 3, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Can you give me an address so I can see if I will be able to drive there?

  9. Laura Lee August 4, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Sounds great!!! Hopefully I can make it.

Leave a comment